Ensemble Pearl

band pic

Ensemble Pearl

Ensemble Pearl

CD Front

1.Ghost Parade5:45
2.Painting on a Corpse6:52
4.Island Epiphany12:45
6.Sexy Angle19:50

Stephen O'Malley
Michio Kurihara
William Herzog
Also featuring:
Eyvind Kang
Timba Harris

From Stephen O'Malley's IDEOLOGIC v2:

28 11 2012
ENSEMBLE PEARL 2LP & CD to be released March 2013
           The recordings known as ENSEMBLE PEARL will see the light of day early next year.
New collaborative album featuring core members of SUNN O))) & BORIS and ex-members of GHOST, JESSE SYKES & THE SWEET HEREAFTER, WHITE HEAVEN.
Stephen O'Malley, Atsuo, Michio Kurihara, William Herzog.
Also featuring Eyvind Kang & Timba Harris.
Recorded by Masato Suzuki. Mixed by Randall Dunn. Mastered by Bob Weston.
Featuring beautiful artwork by Simon Fowler and Michal Mozolewski.
Cosmic heavy rock sounds in an area between Link Wray, Earth "Hex", and early Tangerine Dream. Inspired by 50s-70s rock and contemporary music productions.
I'm pleased that they will be released via Drag City in March 2013 on both vinyl (RTI pressing, Stoughton tip on gatefold sleeve, colored vinyl) and digipak CD version, and Daymare via mini-gatefold 2xCD (mono demos as 2nd disc).
Thank you for the interest.

"The Pearl of our dreams has arrived in real life, courtesy of the cosmic union of Atsuo, Kurihara, Herzog and O'Malley. Amplified rock drops and ripples, auras radiate and fade away into cloudforms, through which lightning bolts. Ensemble Pearl meditate the head that does not meditate."

"Cosmic heavy amplified rock drops and ripples, auras radiate and expand into cloudforms, through which lightning bolts. Tides rise, the moons wax upon a place somewhere between Link Wray, ‘Hex’-era Earth and early Tangerine Dream. The echoes return, leaving a trail that blows and drifts, creating a separate piece. Ensemble Pearl reach through the clouds and atmospheres and bring it all back down to the ground, to forge further creations for woman and man. This music production is inspired by rock from the classic era (50s through 70s) and acousmatic contemporary composition alike.

Ensemble Pearl is a new collaborative album featuring core members of SUNN O))), Boris, Ghost, Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter, and White Heaven. Ensemble Pearl are Atsuo, William Herzog, Michio Kurihara and Stephen O’Malley. Their debut album also features the elemental forces of Eyvind Kang and Timba Harris. These players have all moved air and earth in many other projects and can create monolith and river alike on their own, but for Ensemble Pearl they give and take, knowing and understanding each other’s strengths and lack of weakness. Rather than blast sheets of air-filling sound, their contributions float the space with positive and negative dynamics.

Over the course of the CD, or four sides of vinyl, the band ride the jet stream as the world revolves slowly below, static almost, shimmering imperceptibly, mostly water. In and amongst the sprays of foam, there’s a wash of twin-lead psych-proggery, a raft of tribalbeat sun worship, a passing rumble of neck-stretching, some delicate noiseblowing, a bit of float-and-drone and finally, a majestic drift into the deep waters of dub atmosphere.

Ensemble Pearl was recorded by Masato Suzuki, mixed by Randall Dunn and mastered by Bob Weston. The album features artwork from Simon Fowler and Michal Mozolewski, extending and enhancing the music in integral fashion, helping to make Ensemble Pearl a complete experience for the aspirant listener, a full-spectrum sensory bath."

Release History
LabelCat NoCountryFormatDateNotes
Drag CityDC544CDUSCD2013
Drag CityDC544US2 x LP2013
DaymareDYMC185Japan2 x CD2013

MK Home